Decluttering, the Emotional Agony And Rewards

 

I once wrote in a personal profile description, that I could solve the Middle East peace problem easier than I could organize my office. Still remains true today.

The time has come, for real this time, to confront the unruly piles of papers, boxes filled with stuff, half sorted through projects, files of “miscellaneous”, books (oy the books!), office supplies, and all kinds of organizing contraptions that were destined to bring order to the chaos.

The other night I shared my intention to clear my office during a meeting of my business mastermind group. A colleague said she had the cleanest house ever when she was avoiding working on a project, and asked if perhaps I was avoiding something. Her point was valid. I have friends that clean and organize when they are avoiding something or feel out of control in other areas of their life. I, however, much to my husband’s dismay, never have that problem. I have plenty of other avoidance tactics, but cleaning is not one of them. In fact quite the opposite.

When it comes to manifesting, “clearing one’s space” is a common process. One must get rid of the old to bring in the new. I know this deep into my bones. I use this with my clients in my coaching practice. It’s my own implementation, however, that remains a challenge. When I have done it, I have experienced amazing results! But, just like knowing that eating a heaping plate of veggies will feel better than a plate of fried chicken, I don’t always do what is best for myself.

I have attention deficit disorder. I have had it since I was a kid but we didn’t know what it was back then. I never had the hyperactivity part of it. My mom would send me up to my room and tell me to clean it and I would just kinda play around because I couldn’t create order out of all the stuff. It came to light in a big way when I was in 7th grade and my parents found out I was 25 assignments behind in math. I couldn’t focus in math and the teacher, Mrs. Lewin, yelled a lot and when she did, spit would come through her teeth. Yeah, it was gross and made it even harder to focus—except for the kids in the front row who needed rain ponchos to protect themselves.  Not much was done about my undone assignments, but my mom kept a closer watch and made sure that my math book made its way from the bottom of the steps after school into my room, where it was presumed to be opened and worked on.

One of the reasons I love working in the Akashic Record, the vibrational record of the soul’s journey, is that it is a great focusing tool. Opening the Record is a very clear, direct process. The energy comes in to support the process and helps me to concentrate. It helps my monkey mind stay focused on what is most important to support me in the now while giving glimpses into what is possible. I feel empowered and energized. On more than one occasion—, okay, on lots of occasions—. I get the guidance to clear my space….especially my office. Now, there are ways of energetically clearing space that is very helpful, but physically getting rid of what is no longer serving you is one of the most powerful things you can do. And for me, one of the hardest.

When I clear my space, it is all about decisions and it is confrontive. In my office I have years’ and years’ worth of projects—some completed, some not. I have notes on tons of calls, webinars, and course work. Client files, program files, books that held such promise that were never completed, some not even opened. Report cards and projects from my daughter, travel information, tax information, receipts, recipes, insurance policies, journals, love letters,  heaps of half-filled notebooks that surely contain brilliant life- changing information! There are the piles of things to read, to do, inspiration, thank you cards, prayers, and pictures. Workshop paraphernalia, travel memorabilia, magazines, craft supplies, essential oils, flower essences, supplements, nail polish, even a pillow for the cat! Yes, I know all these things don’t belong in my little 10’x10’ office, but here they sit along with countless other tchotchkes.

Before I can even organize, I have to go through and purge and sort. I checked the calendar and no one really has to come over for the next 2 weeks. Phew! I have now taken over the living room with boxes, bags, papers, and other stuff from the office. My daughter wanted to watch TV last night and, as she looked around for a place to sit,.   I yelled, “ – DON”T TOUCH ANYTHING!” Of course, the cats don’t respect the clearing process. They climb into the sorted boxes and chase balls, knocking over the painstakingly sorted piles. Last night, as my husband strategically searched for a place to move a few things so he could squeeze into a tiny corner of the couch, I said,. “You know this is the hardest thing in the world for me to do.” He nodded. He has lived with me a long time. Thankfully, he also gets how important it is for me to do this.  artwork-142877_1280

One day down and this organizing project has already brought up lots of emotion. My office has been a holding tank of my past—old dreams, disappointments, triumphs. This process is forcing me to make a lot of decisions, helping me to release some of the past, and supporting me in gaining clarity on what I want to create now. Making decisions is one of the most empowering things we can do! As Tony Robbins says, “It is in your moments of decision that your destiny is shaped.”

I have only gotten through a minuscule chunk so far, but I am not giving up this time. I am committed to eating that elephant one bite at a time. Bon appétit!

I invite you to check out my latest offering on Manifesting Your Heart’s Desire through the Akashic Record. Don’t wait! It is coming up very soon! Make the decision to shape your destiny!

Manifesting Your Heart’s Desire…Through the Akashic Record

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

